ISE Blog

ISE 2017 CEDIA Certification Examinations

CEDIA certifications are credentials that reflect defined areas of expertise in the home technology industry. Earning and retaining certification allows you to demonstrate that you have completed the required study and field experience to master a particular skillset and body of knowledge.

AT ISE 2017, attendees had the opportunity to take the three main advanced certifications available – Electronic Systems Certified Technician (ESC-T), Electronic Systems Certified Designer (ESC-D), and Electronic Systems Certified Networking Specialist (ESC-N).

CEDIA Electronic Systems Certified Technician (ESC-T)

Rough-in, trim-out, integrated control systems, retrofit, system verification and testing. If we are speaking your language with this list, you may be ready to sit for the CEDIA Electronic Systems Certified Technician (ESC-T) Exam, formely known as the Electronic Systems Technician (EST) II Certification.

Qualified electronic systems technicians have experience in a wide variety of installation tasks, including troubleshooting and data communications. Most electronic systems technicians with this skill set have between one and three years of electronic systems training.

CEDIA Electronic Systems Certified Designer (ESC-D)

Selecting products, creating schematics and drawings, forming budgets, and developing programming. These are just some of the everyday tasks of an electronic systems designer.

These individuals bridge the gap between the client and the installation professionals, focusing on the overall system design and project completion.

Electronic systems designers who are ready to take the CEDIA Electronic Systems Certified Designer exam should be well-versed in design documentation, project design, needs analysis, and design management. Most electronic systems designers who sit for the exam have a minimum of five years of experience.

CEDIA Electronic Systems Certified Networking Specialist (ESC-N)

Demonstrate the mastery of design, installation and configuration of the home network. Virtually all technologies in the home are becoming part of the home network. If you think you’ve mastered the fundamentals of residential networking, including infrastructure, design, and configuration, then consider taking the CEDIA Electronic Systems Certified Networking Specialist (ESC-N) exam (formerly Formerly Residential Networking Specialist credential).

Electronic systems technicians who are prepared to take the ESC-N exam have experience with wireless home networking, including advanced networking techniques such as VLANS, QoS, and remote access.

CEDIA recommends passing the ESC-T exam and having at least two years of networking experience in the residential field before taking the ESC-N exam.

9 Feb 2017
14:00 - 16:30 | Room D303 | Add to calendar
Certification Exam Session